Skip to content

AutoTempest

• Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

8 results found

1. Print the unique number of cars accross all partners for a given search criterias

As a user, I would like to know how many unique cars there are across all partners for my research,
    So that I can better estimate how many cars in my search are in the overall market at a given time.

I believe that using the tuple [Make, Model, Price, Year, Mileage] to guess if it's the same car across multiple partners would be sufficient. Would be better with VIN but no all ads display it.

Love auto-tempest! I'm a developer myself and in the market for a new car and that idea is very convenient! I guess you cannot…

1 vote
    Vote

We're glad you're here

Please sign in to leave feedback

Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    How important is this to you?

We're glad you're here

Signed in as (Sign out)

Currently we do already deduplicate vehicles from different partners, so for thr most part anyngiven car should only be seen (and counted ) once.  (Though occasionally exceptions will slip through.)  We also already show a combined count of vehicles returned from all sources at the top of the page.

What's missing is, it currently only shows the number that have been displayed; if there are multiple pages of results, the later pages won't be added to the count until they've been loaded. (This is because our back-end queries haven't actually pulled up those vehicles yet, so the front end doesn't know how many there are.) This was necessary in the past to keep the searches as fast as possible. However as search tools have progressed it's less important now. So we actually do have plans to add a complete count, not only of results, but also of remaining results for…

2. Currently only 10 saved searches per email, limit needs to be MUCH higher